About Us


Dippenaar and Reinecke was founded in 1935, and is the oldest supplier of academic attire in South Africa.
With a continued commitment to excellence and dedicated service to our customers, we are proud to be recognised as the most authoritative in the field of judicial, professional and ceremonial attire.  For the past 77 years we have been rendering a service to the most leading tertiary institutions in South Africa, during this time we have established a well-earned reputation for:
  • Excellent and dependable service
  • Outstanding quality
  • Reasonable prices
We are proud of the correct styling of our robes and their exceptional comfort.  Our merchandise is made from the best, tested fabric, which is crease-resistant and guaranteed unconditionally.  Our exclusive imported silk cashmere andpolyester material are top of the range. Highly skilled staff ensures professional service.
Our specialized service includes:
Judicial attire for Judges, Advocates, attorneys and prosecutors
Municipal attire for office –bearers and members of council
Clerical attire for churches – prescribed styles manufactured to specifications
Choral attire in a large selection of styles and colours
Academic attire for the majority of universities and colleges
Some of the Institutions serviced by Dippenaar & Reinecke
University of South Africa 
University of Pretoria
University of Stellenbosch
Tshwane University of Technology
University of the Witwatersrand
University of Venda
University of Johannesburg
Dippenaar & Reinecke also supplied gowns for:
The National Prosecutors Agency of South Africa
Constitutional Court of South Africa
African Court on Human and People Rights in Tanzania
Land Claims Court in South Africa
High Courts in South Africa
Magistrate Courts in South Africa
Some of the special robes supplied to the following dignitaries:
Robe for special Presidential Awards – Dr. Frank Chikane
Chancellor’s Robe for University of Venda for Deputy President Kgalema Motlante
Chancellor’s Robe for University of Johannesburg for Ms. Wendy Lohabe
Dr. Nelson Mandela
Dr. Thabo Mbeki
Mr. Tito Mboweni
The Honourable Judge President Bernard Ngoepe
Dr. Mathews Phosa
Dr. Cyril Ramaphosa
And many others